Reaffirming

Do you ever get those doubts where you’re not 100% whether you love/like someone just for their looks or for their whole being (personality etc)? 

I do. Dale does. I think everybody does. I sometimes get that niggling thought that maybe the only reason I love Dale is because I’m more physically attracted then emotionally attracted.

But, I’ll tell you something that I really enjoy about these feelings; it’s that moment, when Dale does something, it can be so simple like his big gorgeous smile which is because of something I did or because he’s listening to his favourite song or the times when he plays his piano or guitar, that reaffirms that the reason I’m in love with him is because I love him as a whole; his crazy, child-like, mischievous personality, that smile and everything else.

Today, I did something which reaffirmed it for him. He was working at home and I was round his, chilling in his living room playing Minecraft (yeah, I know… I’m little old for Minecraft). I feel so at home and so relaxed there. It feels so normal. I had brought two bars of Cadbury’s Chocolate with me (they’re Dale’s favourite, and I’ve been craving chocolate lately). Me being a good girl I didn’t tuck into one of the bars. 

Just before I was about to leave Dale to go home to spend my evening off work with my Parents, I went on the hunt for some paper. Now, Dale has a Printer/Scanner/Copier thingy-majig. It’s not plugged in mind you, but he has one. However, something he doesn’t have is a single scrap of paper in his whole flat which was available to me sneaking around in! USELESS I TELL YOU! So I had to find a christmas gift which he had already opened but left the wrapping paper on and tear a little rectangle from it. I wrote a little message saying ‘I love you, have a good night’ (he was meeting my dad for take-away which unfortunately has been postponed to tomorrow evening), and sellotaped it to one of the bars of Chocolate. I then put it in his fridge, didn’t tell him about it, went to say goodbye and left it, awaiting it’s discovery.

Sure enough, about an hour after I had left, I received a message telling me he had found the little message. He told me it made him smile (I don’t mean a little smile, he said a massive smile). And then he told me why:

Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 23.54.35

^ That is the actual message.

And that’s how it should be. Constantly surprising each other with the simplest of things which reminds us how much we love our partner. It doesn’t have to be jewellery, a dinner at a restaurant or even a weekend away. Just a simple bar of chocolate in the fridge, a little love note, a random kiss in public (not O.T.T.P.D.A).

Saying I love you, I love you very much or the like is all well and good, but what good is words when you have no desire to prove that with your actions. It’s one thing to be told you’re loved, but to actually know you’re the chosen one above all the other choices of human.

I love Dale, and I know Dale loves me. I wouldn’t have it any other way! 

Author: Alli

Howdy! Artist | Illustrator | Designer |Photographer | Waitress What do ya know... I'm a round-house aspie lover!

Leave a Reply

